Red Twilight

Life is beautiful.

I Caught It from My Mother

Posted by Avra-Sha Faohla on May 20, 2014

stock image a hand holding a mobile phone dialing a number

My mother has always worried about her children. When she doesn’t know where one of her children is, or if the child is late in coming back, her mind immediately starts jumping to the worst scenarios, and she gets very nervous.

As a kid this was frustrating to me, because it meant I always had to tell her where I was going to be. Hey, even today, when I travel away from my dorm for weekends, she likes me to call her and let her know when I arrive safely.

But the thing is, I can totally understand this tendency becauseĀ I’m like that too.

I inherited it from her!

The other day, my roommate wasn’t coming back to the dorm when she usually does, and she hadn’t mentioned to me that she was going out. So I started worrying. Why wasn’t she back yet? Could something bad have happened?

I called her phone. No answer.

I called again.

She picked up and said, “Hello?”

I said, “Where are you?”

A pause, and then the line went dead.

My reaction: OH, MY GOODNESS!! SHE’S BEEN KIDNAPPED!!!

I must have called her at least five more times after that, all with no answer, and was just dialing another time when she walked in through the door.

Turns out the line went dead because she was in the subway. And there I was, all worried, half-considering calling the police.

It’s simultaneously sad and funny.

4 Responses to “I Caught It from My Mother”

  1. Elana said

    Hehe, this sounds just like me and my parents. :D Though it is mostly my father that completely flips out with irrational worry. Every morning I have to tell my parents that I got to work and every afternoon I have to say when I’m leaving. If I go to the mall, then they have to know that I arrived there too.
    Anxious people don’t live well together. We make each other worse and we are three anxious people in one house. :P

  2. Em said

    Hehe, I’m just way too lazy to exit the house at all except for when I walk my dog every day. My parenst are almost the opposite to you and yours – they’re all “Emily, go outside! You need to go shopping or do something girly with your friends.”

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

